Text size: A | A | A Colour contrast: Normal | Soft | High
Connecting you to the right places

Reviews written by bexie_doodle

5 results - showing 1 - 5
 
Museums
 
2013-03-15 10:51:12 R Cumberbatch
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Accessibility 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Helpfulness of Staff 
 
4.0
Quality 
 
3.0
Reviewed by bexie_doodle    March 15, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

National Brewery Centre

The museum is made up of several different buildings (including a stables), and accessibility throughout the site is generally good. Within the main building, where the brewing process is explained, there are a few displays which have steps (for example, so that you can look into a giant vat or where a foreman might stand), but generally the rest of the museum is level, with ramps in and out of the building. Inside the building which details the history of brewing in Burton, there are ramps and a lift to the upper floor and toilets. Some parts of the museum have uneven surfaces but in general the access is good. There are toilets near the bar, but these are in another part of the building and you have to cross a function room to get to them. We went on a Saturday and it was very, very quiet.

The museum is quite big, so the ticket prices are reasonable. You can also exchange supermarket loyalty points for vouchers for entry, which we did, so from that point of view value was very good. However, it is the sort of museum that once you have been you probably don't want to go again, as the displays are static and are not really hands on, hence the rating I've given. The bar might be worth a revisit if you enjoy the beer, but you can access it free from outside anyway.

The staff in the bar were helpful; we didn't really see anyone else while we were walking around the exhibits.

Overall, the museum feels a bit tired. There is a lot to learn, but it's also a lot to take in in one visit. Having visited a whisky exhibition in Edinburgh I felt I enjoyed that more, because even though it was smaller and more expensive it was much more interactive than this museum. Ideally the museum could do with updating - the fact that we only saw one other couple when we were there should be a sign of it's popularity. The bar was nice enough, but nothing special compared to other small-brewery pubs we have visited. There were shire horses which were nice to see, and it was a little bit more accessible that I expected, but overall I'd say if you were interested in brewing it's worth a visit, but perhaps not a return trip.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Museums
 
2013-03-15 10:01:39 R Cumberbatch
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Accessibility 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Helpfulness of Staff 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
4.0
Reviewed by bexie_doodle    March 15, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

Nottingham Contemporary

Accessibility is very good around the gallery itself - there is level entry from outside, throughout the art spaces themselves, and the building has a lift to all floors. Toilets, including an average-sized disabled one, are on the lower floor, as is the cafe bar which is also accessible. Due the gallery's city centre location it can be a little difficult to reach in a manual chair as Nottingham is hilly in places, plus the gallery is located next to a reasonably busy road and tram route (though there are pedestrian crossings controlled by lights next to the gallery, making it easier to cross).

Value for money is great as it's free (donations welcome). The cafe bar is about average for a city location (hot chocolate recommended!), and the gift shop mostly has the same sort of prices you expect from any gallery shop, ie. a little bit expensive.

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

The overall quality is great - it feels like a really good quality building and atmosphere, and the cafe is very good, with large windows on one side so you can look out, plus it opens later at night to cater for visitors using it as a bar. Children are welcome throughout the building. I have only given it four out of five stars based on the content of some of the exhibitions - the first one I went to was great, but the following exhibition I found a little lacklustre (but I appreciate that art is subjective, so someone else might have enjoyed it muich more than me). There are some interesting exhibitions coming later this year including work by internationally-renowned artists, which are worth looking forward to.

All in all, a great place to spend an hour or two.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Country / Stately Homes
 
2012-10-19 21:11:58 R Cumberbatch
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Accessibility 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Helpfulness of Staff 
 
4.0
Quality 
 
4.0
Reviewed by bexie_doodle    October 19, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

Wollaton Hall and Deer Park

A lift! A lift set inside a country house - to three floors! Visiting Wollaton has genuinely changed my opinions and beliefs in terms of what should be possible - accessibility-wise - in stately homes. Although it is not an enormous house, nevertheless it is pretty enough, plus it provides the opportunity to explore more of Nottingham as it is only a short car journey from the city centre (approximately 10 minutes).

My only niggles are small - there appears to be a lift at the front (presumably for disabled users as it looked similar to stair lifts I have seen before), but this does not work which is a shame - I suspect it has not worked for some time as it is not listed on the web site as an accessible route in. For this reason it gets four stars for accessibility. The terrain is mostly flat has a small slope but this is quite steep if you're in a manual chair. Nothing anyone can do about the geography though, so I list it for information purposes rather than as a criticism.

All-in-all a pleasant visit, probably 2-3 hours worth of activity, highly recommended and best of all - free!

Was this review helpful to you? 
11
Report this review
Country / Stately Homes
 
2012-10-19 20:25:51 R Cumberbatch
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Accessibility 
 
1.0
Value for Money 
 
2.0
Helpfulness of Staff 
 
3.0
Quality 
 
2.0
Reviewed by bexie_doodle    October 19, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

Calke Abbey, South Derbyshire

Gets a two star for quality based on able-bodied experience only. Value for Money rating is based on the fact that companions to disabled visitors get in free, plus the National Trust occasionally do free weekends and newspaper offers. How you will enjoy listening to them tell you about all the things you couldn't see for yourself (!)

All in all, if you have a particular desire to stand outside the Abbey looking at the facade, then by all means go ahead and visit. Otherwise, I really wouldn't waste your money or time.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Sports Venues - Watching or Playing
 
2012-01-06 22:09:35 R Cumberbatch
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Accessibility 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Helpfulness of Staff 
 
4.0
Quality 
 
5.0
Reviewed by bexie_doodle    January 06, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

Silverstone

Price depends on the event you go to. I thought accessibility was quite good compared to some places. The biggest barrier to ease of accessibility is volume of people.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
5 results - showing 1 - 5
Which is the best web hosting? Read my just host review and compare it with ipage. Find a reliable hosting provider.

Recent Reviews

Homelands Trust-Fife
Editor rating
 
0.0
User rating
 
5.0 (1)
North Lakes hotel
Editor rating
 
0.0
User rating
 
3.3 (1)

Latest News

Trial Flight Winner!

AerobilityCongratulations to bexie_doodle, whose review of Wollaton Hall and Deer Park has won the Aerobility trial flight prize! We look foward to hear all about it in your review!

Upcoming events

No events