Text size: A | A | A Colour contrast: Normal | Soft | High
Connecting you to the right places

Reviews written by swhite

31 results - showing 1 - 10 1 2 3 4
 
Rehabilitation & Care
 
2013-12-13 10:05:31 Stewart White
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Accessibility 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Helpfulness of Staff 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
5.0
Reviewed by swhite    December 13, 2013
#1 Reviewer  -  

The state-of-the-art Futures Life Skills Centre near Lewes in East Sussex offers a range of accessible activities and facilities not readily available to people in the community with physical disabilities, all on a pay-as-you-use basis. Facilities include:

Futures Life Skills Centre is part of Chailey Heritage Foundation

Registered Charity No. 1075837

Registered in England as a Charitable Company limited by Guarantee No. 3769775


Karen Muxworthy

Marketing & Communications Officer

Chailey Heritage Foundation

Tel: 01825 724444 ext 707

Web: www.chs.org.uk and www.futureschailey.org.uk

Registered Charity No: 1075837









· Accessible gym, spa and sauna

· Circuit training

· Arts, crafts and pottery

· Information and Communication Technology

· Living skills

· Cookery skills

· Accessible café open to all

And much more…

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Van & Vehicle Adaption
 
2013-07-01 15:30:46 Stewart White
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Accessibility 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Helpfulness of Staff 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
5.0
Reviewed by swhite    July 01, 2013
#1 Reviewer  -  

Philip Chapman Car Care is a family run business, specializing in vehicle adaptions for disabled drivers and passengers. We can supply and install a wide range of vehicle adaptions to suit your needs. We provide a fully mobile installation service across central southern England; covering the counties of Hampshire, West Sussex, Berkshire, Wiltshire, Dorset, and the Isle of Wight. We provide a professional installation service, and three years of after-care as standard. This guarantee includes parts, labour and yearly safety checks for primary controls and hoists (travel costs may apply). Please call (023) 80760652 OR Email info@philipchapmancarcare.co.uk to discuss your needs with us.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Sports Venues - Watching or Playing
 
2013-06-07 10:04:51 Stewart White
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Accessibility 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Helpfulness of Staff 
 
4.0
Quality 
 
4.0
Reviewed by swhite    June 07, 2013
#1 Reviewer  -  

But i do enjoy revel in getting to meet friends mostly in London where i spent 20 years working
Recently 20 friends joined me to celebrate my birthday in a new restaurant bird of Smithfield wow what a day and what a restaurant Alan bird and his co director Sian Austin pulled out all the stops 2 waiters assigned to help me about
I often visit my father whose 81 in Woodbridge Suffolk where we do on occasion visit a pub most have flat entrances
One challenge i did face in 2009 was to fly to Belfast for a friend’s 50th birthday staying at the mal maison although i had no issues with my room a disabled one i had to ask for a shower mat to stop me slipping over onme was supplied but placed outside the shower requiring me to call for it to be moved the staff were extremely helpful helping me to unpack and pack to depart taxis in Belfast iare a problem with too few cars the are mostly mini uses or London style black cabs without the rear facing seats when you are unable to balance on one leg as i am impossible length of time to wait for a car taxi flying with flybe Gatwick getting to the check in desk waling with a stick from the car park a true nightmare security wouldn’t let us par near the terminal so from the car par a huge circular ramp ro the ground floor and then a 200 yard walk to check in where when after 30mins the wheelchair i booked arrived i was then wheeled about by a chap willing to take me where i want duty free eats etc boarding the plane was in Gatwick simple wheeled to the door then taken to my seat the return from Belfast city a different matter as there are no limbs one is hoisted in a catering truck to the plane door then seen to ones seat landing disabled passengers are put on a cart for a trip around baggage reclaim
What an architect friend did point out to me that i hadn’t realised before my injury is that statutory demands for disabled access is formulated for wheelchair access no consideration is taken for people struggling waling with a stick threshold heights grab handles changes in floor surfaces etc
And the state of pavements everywhere far too uneven slabs cracked broken etc anyone is a potential trap when struggling with a stick
Most venues i visit do make sure if i ask before to give me a seat with arms to sit in

I will soon in July be visiting the Buxton festival to watch a friend play the pipes in their parade

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Bed & Breakfast
 
2013-06-07 09:43:48 Stewart White
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Accessibility 
 
4.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Helpfulness of Staff 
 
4.0
Quality 
 
4.0
Reviewed by swhite    June 07, 2013
#1 Reviewer  -  

By way of introduction and background i must firstly explain i am 52 before my injury i enjoyed a great life travelling the world as international development director for sun international the south African casino hotel and leisure giant in the 1980s i played first class rugby for London Irish and surrey
In dec 2007 i suffered a brain hemmoraghe which left me disabled i now walk with a stick but do need a supporting arm but i can drive which has transformed what i can do
Last year i had reason to visit Cornwall the minack theatre where the ashes of a former fiancée were to be spread i stayed at the most delightful b & b hormond house in polryun run by Annabel and chris
The drive to Cornwall from my home in Herne bay was a monster broken with a lunch with a friend in Yeovil one thing i had forgotten is that ports in Cornwall are built on hills steep hills i did manage to par close to the b and b and with assistance made it it Annabel is a delightful hostess cups of tea Cornish scones clotted cream abounds my room was all i wanted including a tv the bathroom was a shower but everything was clean and with huge fluffy towels the breakfast set one up well for a day of fresh air at the minack getting into and out of the theatre was a challenge although accredited disabled what i have noticed is that accreditation disabled is more about wheel chair access not waling with a stick and helper i am 6ft 2 and 16st so not the smallest

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Children's Clothing & equipment
 
2013-02-12 17:19:06 Stewart White
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Accessibility 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Helpfulness of Staff 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
5.0
Reviewed by swhite    February 12, 2013
#1 Reviewer  -  

Ability childrens playground equipment

We have designed and developed equipment to make the playground accessible to all. In our inclusive play range we have the AbilityWhirl, AbilitySwing and now the AbilityTrampoline that allow wheelchair users to join in on the fun! We have many more great products for children and adults of all abilities to play alongside each other on our new website.

(No true retings to date)

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Theme Parks
 
2012-11-02 09:50:51 Stewart White
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Accessibility 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Helpfulness of Staff 
 
4.0
Quality 
 
5.0
Reviewed by swhite    November 02, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -  

Harry Potter WB studio tour

A very good day out was had with no difficulties to mention. I will be attending again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Trains
 
2012-10-25 12:04:11 Stewart White
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Accessibility 
 
1.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Helpfulness of Staff 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
1.0
Reviewed by swhite    October 25, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -  

Winchester train station

Station needs updating for mobility needs.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Power Chairs
 
2012-09-11 13:15:12 Stewart White
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Accessibility 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Helpfulness of Staff 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
5.0
Reviewed by swhite    September 11, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -  

Stricker handcycle

(Review by Stricker handcycle customer;)
"I have already enjoyed many hours of fun, flicking switches and working the gears. The power assistance takes the strain out of my shoulders going uphill or just pulling away. I can now leave my car at home, save on fuel costs, and avoid transferring in and out of my vehicle. There are no brackets, no fuss, just clip on and go. Once I arrive at the final destination I simply disconnect, lock up my bike and wheel in. It is simply superb, a pleasure to ride and exercise with"

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Sports Venues - Watching or Playing
 
2012-09-06 09:14:26 Stewart White
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Accessibility 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Helpfulness of Staff 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
5.0
Reviewed by swhite    September 06, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -  

Sportability

listing by Sportmobility

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Children's Clothing & equipment
 
2012-08-24 20:20:04 Stewart White
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Accessibility 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Helpfulness of Staff 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
5.0
Reviewed by swhite    August 24, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -  

BIME’s Wizzybug

Reviw added by BIME's Wizzybug

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
31 results - showing 1 - 10 1 2 3 4
Which is the best web hosting? Read my just host review and compare it with ipage. Find a reliable hosting provider.

Recent Reviews

Homelands Trust-Fife
Editor rating
 
0.0
User rating
 
5.0 (1)
North Lakes hotel
Editor rating
 
0.0
User rating
 
3.3 (1)

Latest News

Trial Flight Winner!

AerobilityCongratulations to bexie_doodle, whose review of Wollaton Hall and Deer Park has won the Aerobility trial flight prize! We look foward to hear all about it in your review!

Upcoming events

No events