Text size: A | A | A Colour contrast: Normal | Soft | High
Connecting you to the right places

Reviews written by collie

5 results - showing 1 - 5
 
Family Days Out
 
2013-06-13 20:25:28 Colin Simon
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Accessibility 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Helpfulness of Staff 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
5.0
Reviewed by collie    June 13, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

Having visited Legoland whilst in my small mobility scooter I felt that I would struggle with the steep hills that are there. How wrong I was if you want to keep going to the car or the entrance than yes your battery won't last very long my scooter has an 10 mile range we were there from time of opening 10am to approx 5pm and I had no problems we took what we wanted food drinks etc as it like other theme parks isn't cheap for anything food wise. I am not allowed to go on any of the rides at all so I cant speak about the rides but the ride staff are very helpful to other disabled customers from what I witnessed whilst there. They have a ride access policy where disabled customers don't have to wait in the long queues if they are unabled to because of their disability I also had no trouble using my scooter to access the parks toilets or the gift shops one problem that some disabled customers could encounter would be there is no disabled access to the play area pirate training camp which is covered in rubber chipping with no access at all if the need arose to tend to a child but having said that there is very helpful families there who would try to find your child it is a maze in there of climbing ropes etc.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Family Days Out
 
2013-06-09 09:32:17 Colin Simon
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Accessibility 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Helpfulness of Staff 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
5.0
Reviewed by collie    June 09, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

Wareham boat hire, Hire out amongst other boats A wheelyboat for disabled people of all ages providing there is adults onboard I decided to hire out the wheelyboat one Saturday morning, I phoned Julie to check to see whether I needed to pre-book I found Julie very helpful and was advised to book just incase the wheelyboat was hired out for the time I wanted, I asked about whether I could cancel if the weather turned bad I was told no problem at all! I booked up the wheelyboat Julie said it takes around 15 mins to get it ready.
When we arrived there was a market on the other side of the quay so no spaces for cars however right outside the hire centre there is double yellow lines so I could park there with my disabled badge ( I checked with a local couple first) Boarding the boat was so easy as they lowered a ramp and on we went there's foldable beach seats and they offered a seat for the driver if needed I found the boat as easy as I remembered driving a car
We paid for a family of 5 £24 for an hour. I couldn't put a price on such a fun hour we had and the look on my son's faces as we sailed along the river priceless!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Beaches
 
2013-05-21 17:14:33 Colin Simon
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Accessibility 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Helpfulness of Staff 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
5.0
Reviewed by collie    May 21, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

The Beach at Weymouth has slopes to access the beach and near to the beach control office right in the middle of the esplanade there are hard mats placed on the beach so pushchairs,prams,wheelchairs and mobility scooters can access a small parts of the beach.You can also hire beach wheelchairs for free from the beach control offices on Weymouth 01305 838511 or see a beach control walker (they often patrol the beach and esplanade)

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Family Days Out
 
2013-05-21 14:34:59 Colin Simon
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Accessibility 
 
2.0
Value for Money 
 
3.0
Helpfulness of Staff 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
4.0
Reviewed by collie    May 21, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

I visited the sealife center in weymouth and found their various huts where they keep their many sea creatures to be accessible apart from No1 (they are numbered) there is no slope to access the bay of rays,also in No3 where there is a bridge I could not access the bridge again no slope to be able to view the rays underneath it.
Then whilst trying no view the turtle sanctuary the floor is very very uneven jarring my spine so much I was in terrible pain as I suffer from spinal stenosis

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Countryside
 
2013-05-21 10:06:06 Colin Simon
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Accessibility 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Helpfulness of Staff 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
5.0
Reviewed by collie    May 21, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

I visited Durlston country park a few weeks ago and pre-booked one of their Trampers and found out I had to join the countryside mobility scheme either on a temporary or annual membership basis I went for the annual membership as there as many places in the south west that hire out Trampers and one place in Wareham dorset that hires out wheelieboats that wheelchair users can drive themselves. I found durlston to be very accessible in the tramper they gave me a map detailing the safe routes to take, then they gave me a short driving type lesson on how the tramper works etc and off I went the whole process from the membership application to me started driving the tramper took less then 20 mins. I was also abled to be dropped off and picked up in our own car right near the front doors saving a walk and steps/slopes which Im unabled to do.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
5 results - showing 1 - 5
Which is the best web hosting? Read my just host review and compare it with ipage. Find a reliable hosting provider.

Recent Reviews

Homelands Trust-Fife
Editor rating
 
0.0
User rating
 
5.0 (1)
North Lakes hotel
Editor rating
 
0.0
User rating
 
3.3 (1)

Latest News

Trial Flight Winner!

AerobilityCongratulations to bexie_doodle, whose review of Wollaton Hall and Deer Park has won the Aerobility trial flight prize! We look foward to hear all about it in your review!

Upcoming events

No events