Text size: A | A | A Colour contrast: Normal | Soft | High
Connecting you to the right places

Reviews written by WheelchairSteve

4 results - showing 1 - 4
 
Extreme Sports
 
2013-04-26 17:30:38 Steve Wilkinson
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Accessibility 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Helpfulness of Staff 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
5.0
Reviewed by WheelchairSteve    April 26, 2013
Last updated: May 07, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

I had the pleasure of taking a flight and the controls of Aerobility's Cherokee Six on Friday 19th April and what an experience it was. The staff at Aerobility's base at Blackbushe are excellent and pilot, James, gave me an informative pre-flight briefing before we set off.

Brian from Aerobility, who, like me, is a wheelchair user controlled their impressive robotic hoist to lift me into the aircraft, G-CHFK. All strapped in, we took off towards the West before heading South over Hampshire towards Portsmouth, flying over Farnborough Airport on the way out as well as on the return journey back to Blackbushe. It was a beautifully clear day and you could see the Isle of Wight in the distance, as well as the impressive countryside scenario, some 2500 feet below us as we sped along at speeds up to 180 mph.

James explained and demonstrated a few manoeuvres before handing control to me to repeat them. It was an exhilarating experience to see the aircraft respond to what I did.

We were in the air about 30 minutes and I'd had a great time. If you have a disability and would like to take a flight, I'd strongly recommend getting in touch with Aerobility.

Was this review helpful to you? 
41
Report this review
Extreme Sports
 
2013-04-24 21:40:05 Steve Wilkinson
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Accessibility 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Helpfulness of Staff 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
5.0
Reviewed by WheelchairSteve    April 24, 2013
Last updated: May 07, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

I had the pleasure of taking a flight and the controls of Aerobility's Cherokee Six on Friday 19th April and what an experience it was. The staff at Aerobility's base at Blackbushe are excellent and pilot, James, gave me an informative pre-flight briefing before we set off.

Brian from Aerobility, who, like me, is a wheelchair user controlled their impressive robotic hoist to lift me into the aircraft, G-CHFK. All strapped in, we took off towards the West before heading South over Hampshire towards Portsmouth, flying over Farnborough Airport on the way out as well as on the return journey back to Blackbushe. It was a beautifully clear day and you could see the Isle of Wight in the distance, as well as the impressive countryside scenario, some 2500 feet below us as we sped along at speeds up to 180 mph.

James explained and demonstrated a few manoeuvres before handing control to me to repeat them. It was an exhilarating experience to see the aircraft respond to what I did.

We were in the air about 30 minutes and I'd had a great time. If you have a disability and would like to take a flight, I'd strongly recommend getting in touch with Aerobility.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Entertainment
 
2013-02-11 18:18:35 Steve Wilkinson
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Accessibility 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Helpfulness of Staff 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
5.0
Reviewed by WheelchairSteve    February 11, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

Great value night out at the cinema for wheelchair users

Three times this year, my wife and I have been to the Tyneside Cinema. It’s a little gem with particularly excellent access for wheelchair users.

There are three theatres screening various types of films, including the latest BAFTA winners. We saw Les Miserable (twice, it's so good) and Django Unchained.

To date we’ve only been in the largest theatre, which is called the Classic. The Classic Stalls are inaccessible for wheelchair users, so you can sit in the luxury Circle at Stalls prices. Better still, a companion goes for free giving you an excellent night out for only £7. You can stay in your wheelchair or transfer into comfortable armchairs in the back row of the Circle, which provides an excellent view of the film.

Despite being an old building, it has been extensively refurbished providing lift and ramped access to all four floors, with accessible toilets also being located on each floor.

As well as the 3 screens, there is a licensed restaurant and a bar and you may take drinks into the theatres. If you visit Newcastle, I’d recommend the Tyneside Cinema over the usual chains in the region to see the latest releases.

Only draw back is lack of parking due it being in the City Centre, although there is plenty of street and off-street parking nearby and it is also close to bus and Metro public transport services.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Hotels
 
2012-09-20 22:04:19 Steve Wilkinson
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Accessibility 
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Helpfulness of Staff 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
5.0
Reviewed by WheelchairSteve    September 20, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

Five good nights

My wife and I stayed 5 nights at this excellent hotel in Llandudno in room 124, which is one of 3 accessible rooms. It was a very spacious room with large bathroom. It had a bath with shower over, which was relatively easy for me to get into as there was a flat area at back of bath. Shower controls were a little difficult to access from bath. Hotel provided a stool to place in the bath to enable me to sit in a higher position.

There was a lift to all floors. It was big enough for my manual wheelchair, but larger chairs/scooters may struggle.

The hotel has 2 disabled parking bays in a very small car park. On the Promenade outside the hotel there was a disabled parking bay and numerous other pay and display bays, which should be free for blue badge holders.

Breakfast is served in a large room down a small flight of stairs with a stairlift into which you would need to transfer. However, the friendly, helpful staff offered us a standard facility to have breakfast in the Terrace Restaurant on the ground floor. They delivered the food we wanted to the restaurant. The breakfast itself was very good with a good choice.

While the main hotel entrance had steps, the side entrance on The Promenade had a wide ramp, which was slightly steep in parts to enable entry into the hotel via the lounge. The two doors there had touch pads for entry through automatic doors.

I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
4 results - showing 1 - 4
Which is the best web hosting? Read my just host review and compare it with ipage. Find a reliable hosting provider.

Recent Reviews

Homelands Trust-Fife
Editor rating
 
0.0
User rating
 
5.0 (1)
North Lakes hotel
Editor rating
 
0.0
User rating
 
3.3 (1)

Latest News

Trial Flight Winner!

AerobilityCongratulations to bexie_doodle, whose review of Wollaton Hall and Deer Park has won the Aerobility trial flight prize! We look foward to hear all about it in your review!

Upcoming events

No events